本區搜索:
Yahoo!字典
打印

[院校討論] How I got a job in the UK after my MBA as an international student

How I got a job in the UK after my MBA as an international student

Yuuhoo, I landed up in a very fancy job in England post my MBA, after all the hard work I put in. I work in one of the most popular investment group in the world with a combination of designing and managing a product under IoT technology. (It may sound ironic!)

Experience in the class
I studied with students from 56 different countries. During the first few weeks of my MBA, I realised most of them had come to achieve a specific goal from their MBA. It could be either to start their own entrepreneurship ventures, or to make a career shift to a different industry, make a country shift or to achieve an acceleration in their career.

At times, an intense one year MBA can be intellectually stimulating, or overwhelming, or stressful or, can make you question your life purpose.

"On the non-academic side, a few of the students end up joining gossip gangs. Yes, these highly skilled people in their late twenties or early thirties gossip. They can feel insecure of their peers and try to malign other people’s image."
I observed, people take their own time to evolve to their more mature selves.

Academics
Coming from an electronics engineering background, I was very clear on the subjects that I wanted to take in my MBA. Apart from the general and mandatory courses (it makes sense for these to be mandatory) such as Business Finance, Strategy, Marketing, Accounting and so on, I consciously selected my electives.

I chose Real Estate Finance, Trading in Financial Markets, Asset Management, Corporate Finance, Entrepreneurial Finance and Lean Six Sigma. I had no intention of making my career in Finance though. I always felt knowing about these areas are necessary for their utility in one’s practical daily life.